Office of State Treasurer
Denise L. Nappier
Welcome to the Unclaimed Property Division
To claim your property click www.CTBigList.com or call (800) 833-7318
What is Unclaimed Property?
We may have something that belongs to you! In Connecticut, the Office of State Treasurer collects and safeguards money and other valuables which have been unclaimed by Connecticut residents for a specific period of time, generally three to five years. Unclaimed assets include, but are not limited to: savings or checking accounts, un-cashed checks, deposits, stocks, bonds or mutual fund shares, travelers' checks or money orders and life insurance policies. Rightful owners or their heirs always have the right to claim funds held by the Treasury. There is no time limit for you to claim this money.
In accordance with state law, the assets are transferred to the Treasurer by entities such as banks, insurance companies, stock transfer agents, utilities, hospitals, retail, manufacturing and service companies following a loss of contact with the owners of record. Specific forms and instructions are provided by the Unclaimed Property Division each year for businesses to file unclaimed property. Such assets must be reported and remitted within 90 days following the close of each calendar year. These assets are held in the custody of the Treasurer until claimants come forward or are located.
Important Finders and Tracers Information for You
Many companies or individuals, often called finders or tracers, will charge you a fee to search for your unclaimed property. In Connecticut, finders or tracers are prohibited from contracting with rightful owners if the property is within two years of the reported date. There is a limit on the fee that can be charged for property filed outside the two year time period. Connecticut law requires:
No agreement to locate property within two years after the property is reported to the State shall be valid;
The fee, after the 2 year moratorium, is limited to 10% of the value of the recoverable property; and,
Such an agreement shall be valid only if it is in writing, signed by the owner, discloses the nature and value of the property, and discloses the owner's share after the fee or compensation has been subtracted.
In addition, there is NO CHARGE to search the Unclaimed Property database through the Treasuryís unclaimed property website, www.CTBigList.com.
2013 Year Review
During Fiscal Year 2013, the Unclaimed Property Division returned $67 million to 17,852 rightful owners. During the same period, the Division received $115 million in unclaimed property receipts.
2013 Division Performance
The Division returned $67 million to 17,852 rightful owners.
The Division received $115 million in unclaimed property, of which $94 million was voluntarily reported by businesses, $5 million resulted from examination of company records and $16 million resulted from the sale of 3.9 million shares of securities.
The Division maintains a website with $624 million in escheated property for 1,168,402 rightful owners as of June 30, 2013.
Connecticut General Statute Section 3-69a (a) (2), requires the Unclaimed Property Division to deposit a portion of its receipts into the Citizenís Election Fund and the balance into the General Fund. For fiscal year 2013, the Division deposited $10,907,400 into the Citizenís Election Fund.
Contact us in the following ways
Two Ways to Claim Your Money:
1. Go to www.CTBigList.com to search for your property on-line and print a claim form.
2. Call 1-800-833-7318 to file a claim or to check the status of a filed claim.
Mail your completed claim form to:
Office of the State Treasurer
PO Box 5065
Hartford, CT 06102
Should you choose to drop off a completed claim form, you may, between 8:30 am
and 4:30 pm
ET, Monday through Friday. Click here for location and directions. Note: Claims ARE NOT
processed while you wait.
For claiming your property, use the Online Inquiry, or call (800) 833-7318